Skip to content
Dublin Town Logo

Young Designer of the Year Finalists Announced

Today the hunt was on to find the most talented young designers of 2014 by Dublin Fashion Festival.

Ireland’s leading fashion commentators, icons, designers and buyers gathered in the stylist surroundings of The Westin Dublin to cast their expert eye over this years entries. Whittling them down to just 12 finalists was no easy task as the caliber of designs and entries this year was outstanding.

Searching for the most creative and innovative designs that can own the runway, the Dublin Fashion Festival Young Designer of the Year judging panel included the Irish Independent’s fashion editor, Bairbre Power; renowned fashion photographer, Barry McCall; TV3 Xpose producer Debbie O’ Donnell, Deirdre Devaney, Director of  Ladies Fashion in Arnotts and Stacey O’Donnell, Head of Personal shopping from Brown Thomas and Aisling Kilduff, Owner of the Design Centre in Powerscourt Town Centre.


After much deliberation by the judges, the final 12 were chosen. Congratulations All!

Ciaran Gormley – University of ulster

Sophie Wallace – NCAD

Claire McElduff – University of Ulster, Belfast

Sookyoung Song – ChongAng Fashion School, in Korean

Bríd McDonald – Griffith College Dublin

Geraldine Breen – Mallow College of Design and Tailoring

Gwen Cunningham – The National College of Art and Design

Caroline Martin – Limerick School of Art and Design

Cliodhna Scully – Griffith College Dublin

Rebecca Kenny – Colaiste Dhulaigh

Marian Witcher – Dublin Institute of Design

Suzanne Stroker – Dublin Institute of Design

Thank you to all the designers who entered this year’s competition. The incredible wealth of young Irish talent is overwhelming and we have been honored to received so many applications for the Young Designer of the Year 2014.  

 36 37 46