Skip to content
Dublin Town Logo

Young Designer of The Year 12 Finalists Announced

Dublin Fashion Festival is delighted to announce the 12 Young Designer of the Year finalists for 2017.

The countdown to crowing this year’s Young Designer of the Year has officially begun with the finalists being announced after a judging session in The Westbury Hotel recently.

Chosen by a select judging panel including renowned fashion photographer, Barry McCall; TV3 Xpose series producer, Debbie O’Donnell; Irish Independent’s fashion editor, Bairbre Power; owner of The Design Centre, Ashling Kilduff; Brown Thomas personal shopping manager, Katie McGrath; Arnotts head of personal shopping at Arnotts, Clara Halpin and editor, Sybil Mulcahy.

The 12 finalists and their designs will take part in a spectacular catwalk show taking place in the stunning surroundings of the Round Room in the Mansion House on September 22. The designers’ pieces will be showcased in front of key fashion influencers including some of Ireland’s established designers and fashion buyers, as they compete for the title of Young Designer of the Year. Along with the coveted title prize, the winner will also get the invaluable opportunity to shoot a fashion portfolio with fashion photographer, Barry McCall.

The 2017 Young Designer of the Year finalists are:

* Maria-Christina Mc Padden – Accademia costume e moda

* Rion O’ Donovan – Limerick School of Art and Design

* Claire Louise Rose Reidy – Griffith College Dublin

 * Romy Blennerhassett – Griffith College Dublin

 * Danielle McGregor – NCAD

* Aoife Eustace Doyle – Limerick School of Art and Design

 * Mairead Dore – Limerick School of Art and Design

* Naomi Ajetunmobi – Grafton Academy of Fashion and Design

  * Gráinne Wilson – Limerick School of Art and Design, LIT

* Safiye Salih – Griffith College Dublin

* Caoimhe Hill – NCAD

* Kate O’ Doherty – Limerick School of Art and Design

Previous winners of the Young Designer of the Year Award have gone on to achieve great successes. Claire Lynam, Young Designer of the Year 2013, is now a member of the design team at River Island in London. The past three previous winners were no different – with so many excellent candidates, the judges always have an extremely tough decision to choose one overall winner out of the final 12. Having completed her shoot with Barry McCall, last year’s winner JJ Donnelly from NCAD is now assisting the design team for Irish Designer Carolyn Donnelly at Dunnes. JJ, is now getting ready to pass on the title to this year’s winner on September 22nd in the Round Room at the Mansion House. JJ’s own design collection will also be shown at this event.

Speaking at the judging session, director of Marketing & Communications for DublinTown (the organisation behind Dublin Fashion Festival), Clyde Carroll, commented:

Each year when I think we can’t get better than the last, again I am left amazed by the talent, and this year’s entries have been of an exceptional standard. Ireland’s future designers are really waving the flag for this country in terms of fashion design and innovation. We see it in stores and boutiques across the country, especially in the Creative Quarter of the city centre. It’s great to see well known retailers continue to offer platforms for homegrown talent by supporting and stocking Irish designs. DublinTown is delighted to be part of this platform by showcasing young designers’ talents through the Young Designer of the Year Award. We can’t wait to crown another winner on September 22

Stay tuned for details on the winner after the event on Sept 22.

For details on all things Dublin Fashion Festival become a fan on Facebook and follow the festival on Twitter @DublinFashion or Instagram @DublinFashion_ or using #DublinFashion