The International Bar
The International Bar is a charming Victorian pub full of Dublin character. It’s famous for hosting nightly comedy sessions, music, plays, poetry nights and the 1916 Walking Tour.
There is little doubt that the building which houses this famed Dublin public house is over two hundred years old. In 1854 the registered licence holder was John Dunne and in 1886 the pub was sold to the O’Donohoe family and was named the International Bar. Since then the pub has retained it’s original Victorian decor which includes a wonderfully ornate hand-carved mahogany one-piece reredos. The carvings are of the river gods of Ireland and match in perfectly with the oak barrels and brass taps where once whiskey, porter and wine were poured liberally into thirsty drinkers glasses.
The International justifiably lays claim to being a true Dublin Joycean pub. The greatest writer the world has seen ensured he mentioned the International in his seminal work on Dublin, Ulysses.
Ireland’s first and longest running comedy club has been housed in the International Bar for over 25 years. They host three different comedy shows running every night of the week. Find out more here
The International Bar offers two rooms for gigs, shows or plays and it’s FREE OF CHARGE. If you want to use their space just drop John Donohoe an email at firstname.lastname@example.org and ask about availability.