Located on O’Connell Street, McDowells Jewellers showcases an exquisite range of diamond rings, gold and silver jewellery, pearls and watches.
Founded in 1870 by William McDowell the ‘Happy Ring House’ originally was in Mary Street and moved to Sackville Street in 1902 making it the longest established business on what is now called O’Connell Street Dublin. Completely destroyed and looted during the 1916 uprising it was rebuilt in 1917 using some of the original girders for the General Post Office.
During the height of the conflict centred around the GPO, William McDowell and the porter made a dash from the premises to Cathedral Street a distance of some fifty yards and in that distance William was shot in the leg and sadly the porter was shot dead.
However, the next family generation enjoyed great prosperity from 1935 to 1976 headed by Jack McDowell who achieved notoriety in 1947 when his horse ‘Caughoo’ won the Aintree Grand National amidst a shroud of controversy at the amazing odds of 100-1.
Over 145 years on they are now in the fourth generation of family ownership of Peter & John McDowell and the ‘Happy Ring House’ still offers that same unique and special experience in choosing your engagement ring.
Services include clean and polish, ring-resizing, repair and restoration and re-modelling.