Number 2 Burgh Quay didn’t start out as a pub, but rather began life as home to The Dublin Library Society. Today though J.W. Sweetman (previously Messrs Maguire’s) offers a distinctive opportunity not available anywhere else in the city – a view of the brewing process as it takes place in The Brewery Bar – and boasting a bar solely dedicated to whiskey, J.W. Sweetman truly is an experience.
One of Dublin’s most historic brewing empires of the 18th Century was established by the respected and highly successful house of Sweetman.
By 1756 the Sweetman family had an extensive network of breweries in Ireland’s capital along with being revered architects, politicians and art connoisseurs.
The original Sweetman brewery had to be demolished under the Wide Streets Commission of 1806 and was relocated to the Corn Exchange before being sold to Arthur Guinness & Sons during the transformation of the independent brewing industry in Ireland. John Sweetman Jnr. continued in politics becoming a founding member of Sinn Fein and its President from 1908-1911. Through the commission, Burgh Quay and the buildings we occupy today were created.
Captain James Connolly, the buildings’ owner went on to lease the buildings to the Messrs Maguire who were in the business of flax, rope and hemp manufacturing.
Now we are very happy to pay homage to Dublin’s brewing industry and welcome you into our Independent Craft Beer Brewery, J.W. Sweetman.